Interest in the subject of autonomous vehicles has vastly increased in recent years and nowadays it is a much discussed topic. Almost all automobile manufacturers are working on solutions of their own. Autonomos is one of the pioneers of self-driving cars, having started in  2007 and, since 2010, carrying out autonomous test drives in city traffic in Berlin.

Visualization and real-time analysis of a variety of sensor data, calculation of traffic-related decisions by the vehicle itself, integration of relevant safety measures – Autonomos GmbH is your point of contact in every aspect of autonomous driving. Our experience was gained from the many test vehicles that we have supported from the planning stages to their deployment under real traffic conditions.

WHAT IS … A SELF-DRIVING CAR?

The “Sense-Plan-Act Paradigm“ is illustrated here by comparing a human being with a vehicle:

 

 

 

SENSE:           Eyes | Sensors
PLAN:       Brain | Computer
ACT:     Muscles | Actuators

(Image © Dr. Miao Wang)

SENSE – Perception:
The vehicle is able to orient itself with the help of digital map material and a GPS unit. Environmental sensors integrated into the bodywork of the vehicle sense the surrounding areas in real-time.

PLAN – Planning:
The data from the sensors is merged and analyzed. The vehicle is able to plan a collision-free path through traffic based on this data, while obeying the rules of the road and maintaining a safe distance from other road users.

ACT – Action:
The control commands generated in the planning phase are checked by a further safety component and then transmitted to the vehicle’s drive-by-wire actuator over the CAN bus. This allows the vehicle to work the pedals and steering wheel on its own.

FLEET OF AUTONOMO(U)S CARS

“Spirit of Berlin”

“MadeInGermany”

“Einstein”

MadeInGermany
HAS ALREADY BEEN TESTED IN

REALITY CHECK

The prototype “MadeInGermany“ has proven its capabilities under a variety of conditions, from autonomous driving on closed off testing grounds to highly-automated journeys in real road traffic, always paying strict attention to safety issues. This has allowed our team to broaden its experience, internationally as well as nationally, in recent years. MadeInGermany mastered the different challenges posed by road conditions in Germany (Berlin), Switzerland (Zürich) and North America (USA and Mexico City).

SENSOR SETUP

A

LOCALIZATION

Applanix POS LV 510

B

STEREO CAMERA

Autonomos

C

CAMERAS

Continental & Hella

D

360° LIDAR

Velodyne HDL-64E

E

LIDAR

6 Ibeo laser scanner

F

RADAR

SMS, Hella & TRW

With the aid of the integrated navigation system (A) consisting of a high-precision GPS receiver, an inertia unit and an odometer, the vehicle is able to pinpoint its location. Using correction data (RTK) the level of precision can be increased to within a few centimeters. The vehicle’s position can be further determined with integration and filtering, even in tunnels and between blocks of houses where the view of the satellite is obscured.

The distance (and position) of surrounding objects is measured with the help of laser scanners (D,E). The data from the individual sensors are combined into a virtual sensor. The laser scanner measures the runtime of an emitted and reflected laser impulse (LIDAR – Light Detecting and Ranging). This allows objects to be detected within a distance of approx. 150m.

Several installed RADAR (F) measure the position and exact speed of surrounding objects using the Doppler effect. This information is added to the sensor data fusion along with the LIDAR data, enabling the creation of a robust model of the surrounding objects.

Cameras (B, C) installed on the windscreen record images and videos of the surrounding area. The recordings must be sufficiently clear to allow a range of diverse objects to be identified. Lane assist cameras have proven to be the most suitable for driver assistance systems. They recognize the course of the road markings and help the vehicle to remain in the correct lane. Our smart stereo camera analyzes 2D and 3D images and recognizes (and differentiates) various types of road user (pedestrians, vehicles). It is also able to identify the status of the traffic lights.

ASK A QUESTION OR
SEARCH FOR A CUSTOMIZED SOLUTION

CONTACT US

Das Thema der Autonomen Fahrzeuge hat über die letzten Jahre rasant an Fahrt aufgenommen und ist heute bereits in aller Munde. Fast jeder Automobilhersteller forscht heutzutage bereits an eigenen Lösungen. Autonomos gehört seit 2007 zu den Pionieren der selbstfahrenden Fahrzeuge und führt bereits seit 2010 autonome (bzw. hochautomatisierte) Testfahrten im Berliner Innenstadtverkehr durch.

Von der Visualisierung und Echtzeit-Auswertung verschiedener Sensordaten, über die Ableitung von verkehrsrelevanten Entscheidungen die das Fahrzeug selbstständig ausführt bis hin zu Integration von relevanten Sicherheitsaspekten ist die Autonomos GmbH Ihr Ansprechpartner rund um das Thema „Autonomes Fahren“. Unsere Erfahrungen basieren auf zahlreichen Versuchsträgern, die wir von der Planung bis zum Einsatz unter Realbedingungen im Straßenverkehr begleitet haben.

WHAT IS … A SELF DRIVING CAR?

Das „Sense-Plan-Act Paradigma„, hier illustriert am Vergleich zwischen Mensch & Fahrzeug:

 

 

 

SENSE:      Augen | Sensoren
PLAN:      Gehirn | Computer
ACT:          Muskeln | Aktoren

(© Bild von Dr. Miao Wang):

SENSE – Wahrnehmung:
Mit Hilfe von digitalem Kartenmaterial und einer GPS-Einheit kann sich das Fahrzeug in der Welt selbstständig zurechtfinden. Unterschiedliche Umfeldsensoren sind in die Karosserie des Fahrzeugs integriert und nehmen die Umgebung um das Fahrzeug in Echtzeit war.

PLAN – Planung:
Die Daten der unterschiedlichen Sensoren werden fusioniert und ausgewertet. Aufbauend auf diesen Daten kann das Fahrzeug einen kollisionsfreien Pfad durch den Verkehr planen und berücksichtigt dabei alle Verkehrsregeln sowie Sicherheitsabstände zu allen umliegenden Verkehrsteilnehmern.

ACT – Aktion:
Die in der Planungsebene generierten Steuerbefehle werden durch eine weitere Sicherheitsinstanz geprüft und anschließend über den CAN-Bus an die Drive-by-Wire Aktorik des Fahrzeugs übergeben, so dass dieses selbstständig Gas, Bremse und Lenkung betätigen kann.

FLEET OF AUTONOMO(U)S CARS

„Spirit of Berlin“

„MadeInGermany“

„Einstein“

MadeInGermany
BEREITS GETESTET IN

REALITY CHECK

Der autonome Testträger „MadeInGermany“ konnte seine Fertigkeiten bereits unter verschiedensten Bedingung unter Beweis stellen: Von autonomen Fahrten auf abgesperrtem Testgelände bis hin zu hochautomatisierten Fahrten in realem Straßenverkehr – natürlich alles unter strenger Berücksichtigung von Sicherheitsaspekten. So konnte unser Team in den letzten Jahren auch auf internationalem Parkett zahlreiche Erfahrungen sammeln: Unser MadeInGermany meisterte unterschiedlichste Herausforderungen auf deutschen (Berlin), schweizer (Zürich) und nordamerikanischen (USA & Mexiko City) Straßen.

SENSOR SETUP

A

LOKALISIERUNG

Applanix POS LV 510

B

STEREO CAMERA

Autonomos

C

KAMERA

Continental & Hella

D

360° LIDAR

Velodyne HDL-64E

E

LIDAR

6 Ibeo Laserscanner

F

RADAR

SMS, Hella & TRW

Mit Hilfe des integrierten Navigationssystems (A) (bestehend aus einem hochpräzisen GPS-Empfänger, einer Inertialeinheit und einem Odometer) kann sich das Fahrzeug sehr genau lokalisieren. Durch das Verwenden von Korrekturdaten (RTK) kann die Genauigkeit sogar auf wenige Zentimeter erhöht werden. Selbst in Tunneln und Häuserschluchten, wo die Sicht auf die Satelliten verdeckt ist, kann die eigene Position durch Integration und Filterung weiter bestimmt werden.

Mit Hilfe mehrerer Laserscanner (D, E) wird der Abstand (und die Position) umliegender Objekte gemessen. Dabei werden die Daten der einzelnen Sensoren zu einem virtuellen Sensor zusammengefasst. Das Funktionsprinzip der Laserscanner beruht dabei auf der Laufzeitmessung eines ausgesannten und reflektierten Laserimpulses (LIDAR – Light Detecting and Ranging). Somit können Objekte bis zu einer Entfernung von ca. 150m erkannt werden.

Mehrere verbaute RADARE (F) messen die Position und die exakten Geschwindigkeiten umliegender Objekte über den Doppler-Effekt, diese Informationen fließen gemeinsam mit den LIDAR-Daten in die Sensordatenfusion ein und ermöglichen so ein robustes Modell umliegender Objekte zu erstellen.

Verschiedene an der Frontscheibe verbaute Kameras (B, C) zeichnen Bilder/Videos der Umgebung auf, in denen unterschiedlichste Objekte erkannt werden müssen. Im Bereich der Fahrerassistenzsysteme haben sich vor allem Spurhaltekameras durchgesetzt, die den Verlauf der Fahrbahnmarkierung erkennen und somit helfen das Fahrzeug in der Spur zu halten. Unsere „smarte“ Stereo-Kamera wertet 2D- und 3D-Bilder aus und erkennt so verschiedene Verkehrsteilnehmer (Passanten, Fahrzeuge) – und kann diese sogar unterscheiden! Darüber hinaus ist sie in der Lage den Zustand von Ampeln zu erfassen.

HABEN SIE FRAGEN ODER
SUCHEN SIE EINE INDIVIDUELLE LÖSUNG

CONTACT US